Skout was initially a social network (similar to Facebook) during its inception in 2007. Currently, it is a social app that helps users find relationships, friendships, and networking circles. As a location-based app, they've expanded to the rest of the world, where users from more than 100 countries can connect and create special connections.
The Skout app is jam-packed with features (both free and premium) which makes sure that you'll never be bored while using it. With 10 million users worldwide and a million messages sent daily, you won't run out of things to do in Skout.
You can use your Facebook account, Gmail, or start from scratch with a new account
Registration can take less than a minute
The emails provided are not checked for authenticity
Very basic personal information needed
Registration is very quick and easy. Once you sign in either with your Facebook, Gmail, or new account, only a few fields are mandatory. Even though your profile is still incomplete, you can start finding other members and chatting with them. Skout login can be done through the app or the website. Since the emails are not verified with a confirmation code, anyone can create a fake profile easily.
Members can like and comment on your current profile photo
Most profiles are only in their first names or nicknames
Since users can start using the app without completing their basic information, you might find a lot of potential matches with unfinished profiles. Some do not even have profile photos, since it is not required. This incomplete information can extremely limit members' choices. Photos are bound for approval; if they do not meet guidelines, upload will be denied by Skout.
Messages are previewed first and accepted or rejected
Rejected messages will block the user too
Photo commenting and liking are free
Set profiles as your "Favourite"
The Skout chat is unlimited for all members and available through the free search option. If someone new sends you a message, it becomes a message request first. If you accept the request, you can start chatting immediately. If you reject it, the message will be deleted and the user will be blocked too to protect your privacy. If you accidentally rejected the message, you can go to the "Blocked Users" section, unblock that person, and start chatting.
You can try out their dating game called "Blind Date." It gives the streaming host the ability to hear the "contestant" but they initially can’t see them. As the video chat progresses, the images become less and less blurred before being fully revealed at the end of the allocated time.
Both participants can then decide whether or not they want to make a match and continue the conversation privately.
Where you can hide your photos and let members unlock them. You set the unlocking price from 10 to 10,000 points. For every user that unlocks your photos, you get a portion of the points earned. Members who unlocked your photo can rate it from 1 to 5 stars.
A place where you let people know your personality beyond your profile. You can post interesting content such as photos or fun questions to engage people in conversation.
Shake to chat
Available in the Chat function of the Skout app. If you click on this feature and then shake your phone, you will be matched with a random user nearby. It is a gamble because you know nothing about the person, but the mystery is part of the thrill.
Purchase a 24-hour ticket to travel to hundreds of cities around the world. Your phone will be set to that city which means all the features will be local to the city you traveled to. This gives you the opportunity to experience the culture and meet people from different cities.
You are presented with different profiles suggested by Skout, and you can simply like or dislike the suggestions by the tapping the green check or red X mark. If you tapped the green check on someone who did the same to your profile, then it's a match.
Both iOS and Android users can download the app. Profiles that are beyond your preferences (especially location) can show up in the recommended section. Sometimes, the profiles you click on in the search results are actually accounts from their sister app "Meet Me". You are then encouraged to download the Meet Me app as well to connect with that user, which can be annoying.
Even though the free version is fun enough with the numerous features, the premium membership offers many upgrades which could make the experience more enjoyable. The new in-app currency, called Skout points, can be used to send virtual gifts to other members. For example:
With its many features and active members, using the Skout app can be very enjoyable. But not for people who want a dating or hookup site. Even though it is primarily advertised as a dating service, Skout is also filled with people who are looking for something less romantic. With this app, members have to be clear with their intentions when communicating to avoid mixed signals. If you want a more straightforward dating website that aims to create serious relationships, check out ourMatchmaker category.
What is Skout used for?
Skout is a social networking app which is used to connect to people nearby or all over the world. You can use it to find friends or romance.
Who created Skout?
Skout was founded by Christian Wiklund and Niklas Lindstrom in 2007.
Where is Skout located?
Skout is based in San Francisco, United States.
What are Skout points?
Points are the in-app currency used in Skout. You can use points to give gifts to another user, boost your profile to the featured users list, and many more. Points can both be purchased and earned for free.
What does Skout ID mean?
Your Skout ID is your username. It helps other members find you faster.
How do I change my name on Skout?
On the main interface of the app, swipe right to see the toolbar. Click on the pencil icon on the top right, and edit your name.
How do I search by name on Skout?
On the main interface of the app, swipe right to see the toolbar. Scroll down until you see "Find User by SkoutID", click that, and search their name or their Skout ID.
How do I log out of Skout?
On the main interface of the app, swipe right to see the toolbar. Scroll down until you see "Logout" and click on that.
How can I unblock someone on Skout?
On the main interface of the app, swipe right to see the toolbar. Scroll down and click on "Settings". Under "Settings", click on "Blocked Users" and click on the profile you want to unblock.
How do I know who checked me out on Skout?
The bell icon on the top right of the app serves as a Notification bar where you can see who checked your profile, among others.
Can Skout be used on a computer?
Yes, Skout is available on the desktop version.
How do I get free points on Skout?
You can upload private photos - known as "Backstage" photos and set a price for other users to unlock them. For every user that unlocks your Backstage photos, you earn a portion of the points. Another way is checking the Skout blog because the creators regularly post contests and giveaways for free points.
How do I chat on Skout?
You can look for users in the Meet People section or by manually searching. Once you've found someone, click on the green chat box in the middle of their profile, and start chatting.
Security and Account Safety
Why won't Skout approve my picture?
Your photo has probably violated their guidelines. You can either contact their customer service or upload a more conservative or sensible photo.
Why did Skout block me?
Will Skout post/show up on my Facebook?
Skout does not post on your Facebook account.
How can I delete my account?
On the main interface of the app, swipe right to see the toolbar. Scroll down and click on "Settings". Under "Settings", click on "Deactivate Account" and confirm deactivation.
Can I reactivate Skout?
Yes, you can reactivate your Skout account and restore your data anytime by logging in with your name and password.
You did not find your question? Ask us!
Thank you for your question. We will answer it as soon as possible.
Share your Skout experience
Here, real singles share their experiences with Skout. If you also want to share your experiences, do it here:
Thank you for sharing your experience! After verifying it we will publish your experience here.